Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Lateral g force measurement in vehicle — Parallax Forums

Lateral g force measurement in vehicle

schawgoschawgo Posts: 1
edited 2005-10-06 13:02 in BASIC Stamp
To anyone who is willing to help:

I'm a mechanical engineer experimenting with BASIC stamps for the first time so please bear with me.· I'm trying to measure the lateral g force in a vehicle while the vehicle is in a turn.· I've managed to get the accelerometer and the display working very well.· I'm only intrested in the highest g force experienced by the vehicle, therefore, my program is written to display only the highest g force seen during a given test run.· A problem arises when the vehicle hits a bump in the turn.· For a split second the accelerometer and the vehicle experience a g force higher than the car would normally see if the bump wasn't there.· Since the accelerometer is so fast it records the high acceleration.· I don't want that reading.· I want the reading that the car pulls in the turn.· Is there a way to filter out shock loads seen by the accelerometer?· Perhaps there is a way to filter·that type of loading·out by the time the accelerometer·experiences· a given g force.· In other words, if the accelerometer records an acceleration of .6 g's for only 2 milliseconds then I could tell the display not to display that value.· I could use the time variable in that case to filter out the shock loads.· I'm not sure how to write this into the program.· Any help would be greatly appreciated.· Thanks.

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-08-09 01:27
    Can your program incorporate some max delta between measurements? Assuming a car enters a corner somewhat smoothely there should be a smooth transition from one reading to the next; if that "smooth" threshold (you'll probably have to determine empircally) is exceeded the new value (spike) could be tossed.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams