Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BOE power failure — Parallax Forums

BOE power failure

Tony BoersmaTony Boersma Posts: 41
edited 2005-07-26 16:36 in BASIC Stamp
My BOE stopped working. It was working last night but tonight it isn't. I changed the batteries so it isn't the batteries. I might have left the power on, could it have overheated? I'm extremely new to this I apologize if it's been addressed already.
Tony

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2005-07-26 04:26
    Tony,

What isn't working? Program download to the BS2-IC? Is the power supply switch in POS 1 or 2? Any other serial port utilities running (PDAs, Hyperterminal)? Serial cable still connected at both ends? Leaving power on won't overheat a BOE. Is this BOE on a BOT? Do you mean that when you turn your BOT on the BOE (and BS2) don't execute the code properly? If this is a BOT maybe your servos are not connected. You need to have the power switch in 2 for servos to get power.

Don't apologize for asking questions. Too many people are afraid to ask questions in forums. Ask them all.

Ken Gracey
    Parallax, Inc.
  • Tony BoersmaTony Boersma Posts: 41
    edited 2005-07-26 04:29
    When I flip the switch the LED does not come on. When I try to program it does not see the Stamp. It is a Bot but not currently in Bot function. Power supply in both positions gets equal results.
    Thanks for your prompt response.
    Tony
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-07-26 05:19
    Tony,

·· I realize you tried different batteries, but do you have another fresh set you could try?· Quite often it seems nowadays people will buy a new set of batteries only to find that they have a dead cell, causing problems.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
    edited 2005-07-26 13:06
    Tony,