Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
complete beginner! — Parallax Forums

complete beginner!

heppyheppy Posts: 3
edited 2005-06-23 18:43 in BASIC Stamp
I am in posession of what i believe to be a BASIC stamp.

It is connected to a set of 9 sensors, and at the other end a serial connector.

I have manged to work out what it is sending over the serial:

sensor 0: 10 0
sensor 1: 11 1
sensor 2: 12 2
sensor 3: 13 3
etc....

the first is sent on touch, the second number is sent whan the hand is removed from the sensor.

I downloaded the STAMP editor software. but he can't find my stamp. Is it possible to edit the STAMP once it has been assembled on to a board?

I want to edit the stamp so it sends different numbers.

HELP!jumpin.gif

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-06-22 17:36
    Can you post a picture of what you believe is a BASIC Stamp?· Mabye it isn't....

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-06-22 19:21
    Well, if you had the original source, you could edit that source, and download to the Stamp. That assumes that pins 1,2,3, and 4 of the BS2 are brought out to pins 2,3,4, and 5 of a DB-9 serial port connector.

However, you cannot read the code out of a Stamp, edit it, recompile it, and download the new version to the Stamp. It's a very write-only kind of device. This is how people protect their intellectual property.

Now, if you can 'reverse engineer' what the current Stamp does, you could write an equivalent source code program, compile that, and download that into the Stamp (as long as there's a programming connector). That can be difficult, however.
  • heppyheppy Posts: 3
    edited 2005-06-23 11:59
    I had this photo already from a previous project of the chip. You can't see it very well, if it's not enough i can take another.

breadboard.jpg
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-06-23 12:43