Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Generating Pulses — Parallax Forums

Generating Pulses

edited 2005-06-22 21:44 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I'm completely new to the Basic Stamp and need advice about how to proceed in a project.

I have a requirement to generate pulses to control a stepper motor. The board controlling the motor has 2 pins, one of which is controlling direction (just high or low) and another which accepts pulses.

Essentially I would like to recreate the sort of utility you get with the Little Step-U board, i.e. generate a number of pulses per second and be able to ramp up and down to that speed. I would use the Little Step-U except that I believe that actually powers the motor as well, which in this case is not required.

Finally I need to be able to control this via a serial port, but I presume I can do this through the debug port?

I have got the BS2P40 stamp and can generate pulses using pulsout easily enough but the timing between pulses looks like it will be difficult to control when I start adding code in the loop. For instance widening the pulse seems to also increase the gap between pulses as well for some reason.

Does anyone have any advice for how I should go about doing this?

Many thanks,

Richard

Comments

• BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-06-21 12:13
    Richard,
    Please post your code. We can do very little without seeing it.
    Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video·Module" Now available from Parallax for only $28.95

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=30012

Product web site: www.sxvm.com

"What's the difference between ignorance and apathy ?"
    "I don't know, and I don't care."
    ·
  • edited 2005-06-21 13:03
    Hi,

Well I haven't got any code to show at the moment.

I've been just testing with a DO LOOP:

DO
    PULSOUT 5, 50
    LOOP