Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LCD problem .. Very very odd .. — Parallax Forums

LCD problem .. Very very odd ..

JUSTINDFERGFVJUSTINDFERGFV Posts: 2
edited 2005-06-13 17:41 in BASIC Stamp
I have a matrix orbital GLK24064-25 Connected to a BS2SX ...

This code works fine and puts the right data in the right places ..

SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]254,88]
'Move cursur TO top left
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]254,71,8,1]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]"CALCULATOR: Interval" ]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]254,71,1,3]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]"1. Start time ",DEC2 starthour,":",DEC2 startmin]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]254,71,22,3]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]"2. End time ",DEC2 stophour,":",DEC2 stopmin]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]254,71,1,4]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]"3. Screen time ",DEC3 screentime," Seconds"]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]254,71,1,5]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]"4. Set interval"]

But this line ..

SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]254,71,1,8]
SEROUT 11,240,[noparse][[/noparse]"Interval ",DEC2 intmin,":",DEC2 intsec]


simply·displays·Interval06 instead of "Interval 00:00"

It does not matter where I put it on the screen ..·· and it's driving me mad ..

Does anyone have any idea ?eyes.gif


·

Comments

  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-06-11 16:22
    Nope, looks fine to me -- unless 'intmin' is undefined?
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-06-12 01:30
    Attach the code?



    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • JUSTINDFERGFVJUSTINDFERGFV Posts: 2
    edited 2005-06-12 08:04
    Chris I could attach the code .. but I think I've worked it out .. posting questions on a message board often does this for me !

    When I move the serout commands about it's always the last one that's corrupted .. by putting a pause 100 halfway through the commands it all goes right again ...··· It it possible I've filled the buffer on the LCD screen ?
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-06-12 12:22
    Well, LCD's DO take some time to update themselves -- like a few 10's of milliseconds. Usually, the SEROUT command contains enough delay to let this happen. There IS a 'RDY' pin, I believe, or a "I'm ready for the next command, master" status -- but most apps run them 'open-loop' without using this feedback. As a human, you can't really tell if there's an occasional 10 mSec pause in there.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-06-12 20:55
    Hello,

    ·· This would be easy to enough to try by simply adding the pause...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • Tom-Matrix OrbitalTom-Matrix Orbital Posts: 38
    edited 2005-06-13 17:41
    The delay will definitely help with the graphics displays. Unfortunately the graphic display are more limited in speed than the alphanumeric displays. The display uses a 96byte buffer, and it is possible to over flow the buffer, which looks as though you have done.
Sign In or Register to comment.