Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
railgun bore inspection robot — Parallax Forums

railgun bore inspection robot

soyyamsoyyam Posts: 3
edited 2005-06-11 15:24 in Robotics
I'm new to robotics (I've never built one from scratch).·

Well, the robot I need to build needs to fit into a 38 x 38mm bore, but then also stay centered in a 76 x 38mm bore.· The robot needs a camera (I think I've found one here: http://www.supercircuits.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=4013), about 8 LEDs that should either be able to dim and brighten or just have a couple turn on and off.· Distance detection is also important, I've thought about sonar and the other option that's come up is a digital tape measure.··(Distance from the end of the bore, the·longest bore is 7 meters).· For centering I've thought about whiskers, but that would require steering and the people that I'm working with want to keep it so the robot only moves forward and back.· So, my lab partner wants to put wheels on the side that spring out, or something to that effect.· Currently, I'm in charge of buying motors and gears (I never was good at mechanical physics) since my lab partner's out of town for the week.· Basically, I'm just looking for ideas on how to possibly implement some of this and where to find parts that are small enough to fit into the bore.

Thanks

Post Edited (soyyam) : 6/9/2005 5:18:58 PM GMT

Comments

• jdoleckijdolecki Posts: 726
    edited 2005-06-09 15:23
    Where else would buy small parts at, but

http://www.smallparts.com/
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-06-09 16:00