Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stamp -> Matlab — Parallax Forums

Stamp -> Matlab

sooryasoorya Posts: 2
edited 2005-06-09 16:18 in BASIC Stamp
Hi All,

I am an amateur in the field of microcontrollers. This forum has been proved to be very useful for exchanging the information.
I have a problem communicating with stamp through the matlab, I can explain the problem briefly

I am trying to send two data values from matlab and store it in two different valued in the basic stamp . Using those Variables as the counters I am switching On and off the LEDS conencted to two control lines. The code is pretty simple but when I run th program, the lights doest work the way it should.

Is there any method that I can send some information from stamp to matlab so that it will be acting as a pointer so as to stop the data to be sent and resume the data to be sent

I am attaching the matlab code and the stamp code ( verymuch simplified version ) for those interested in helping me sort out the problem

Thanks in advance

Soorya

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-06-09 14:07
    Hello,

·· I'm not familiar with MatLab, but I'm going to assume it uses the programming port to exchange data with the Stamp so you can't use your DEBUG window?· If this is the case, do you have a Serial LCD display you could use for debugging?

·· Specifically what I would try is to confirm that the data you're sending the BASIC Stamp is what it's getting.· This could be done by displaying these values on another device (Usually DEBUG window) such as an LCD.· If the values are as expected, then it's got to be a code error.· Not knowing exactly what you're trying to do, I cannot tell if your code is doing that.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • sooryasoorya Posts: 2
    edited 2005-06-09 15:29
    Hi Chris