Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Binary Counter — Parallax Forums

Binary Counter

dmyhanddmyhand Posts: 5
edited 2005-06-12 04:55 in BASIC Stamp
I want to build a device which will count in binary using 8 LEDs. I teach networking and I am finding that most, if not all, of my students understand things better with a visual representation. Would this be easy to do with a BASIC Stamp? I am new to circuit design, but willing to learn. Thanks, Dennis Myhand

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-06-07 20:22
    Easy?· You betcha.· Simply connect LEDs to P0 - P7 (through a 470 ohm resistor) and run the following code (just one way to do it).

' {$STAMP BS2}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}

LEDs··········· VAR···· OUTL··········· ' on P0 - P7
    counter········ VAR···· Byte

Reset:
    · DIRL = %11111111······················' make P0 - P7 outputs·

Main:
    · FOR counter = 0 TO 255
    ··· LEDs = counter
    ··· PAUSE 250
    · NEXT
    · GOTO Main

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax

Post Edited (Jon Williams (Parallax)) : 6/7/2005 8:29:48 PM GMT
    400 x 562 - 5K
  • dmyhanddmyhand Posts: 5
    edited 2005-06-07 21:06
    Too Flippin' Kewl!...Thanks. Now I can buy a kit.
    edited 2005-06-07 21:14
    That's as easy as popping into your local RadioShack and picking up one of our "What's A Microcontroller?" kits. It includes an excellent introductory text by Andy Lindsay.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
  • GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2005-06-08 10:31
    One small question...

How many mA does each LED draw?

And how many LEDs can be lit at one time before you run into problems?

The FAQ suggests not having more than 3 LEDs powered at any time to avoid flaky and unpredictable behaviour...
    http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/stamps/basicstampfaq.pdf
    (See page 10)
    This FAQ may need to be updated about the latest models, though...