Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Maximum Amount of Variable ? — Parallax Forums

Maximum Amount of Variable ?

DukeDuke Posts: 21
edited 2005-06-06 01:29 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I'm a Basic Stamp 2P novice, I've been·working with a pulse detect device (Photo interupter + disc).
I would like to know·is the memory of Basic Stamp 2P enough to keep the data of 200 train pulses,
So that I count use these data to calculate later ex. Average, Max ,Min.

Like this..
w1=5.7 ms
w2=6.3 ms
w4=8.5 ms
w200= 11.3

or can I store these data into array

Thank you in advance.

Duke..

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-06-03 03:29
    Duke,

·· You don't need to store 200 pulses to calculate Average, Min and Max values.· You can do that on the fly using·maybe 4·variables.· One could store the Min value, one could store the max value, one could store the current value, and one to keep a running average based on the current value.· You could also store 5 samples at a time and run that average into a variable.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • DukeDuke Posts: 21
    edited 2005-06-03 04:13
    Chris,

Thank you,
    Im sorry but my question is not so clear about the propose of those data.
    I will use them for Max Min Average and .. Data Recall. As I finished monitors those pulse 1 time I want to see the serie data in backward.

Like this..

w200=11.3 ms

press a button then show

w199=10.5 ms

In this case, how many data can I store or do I have to learn to keep them in EEPROM address
    Please help.

Duke..
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-06-03 14:59
    Duke,