Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Telemetry with a Boe-Bot or two? — Parallax Forums

Telemetry with a Boe-Bot or two?

ahayahay Posts: 19
edited 2005-06-07 15:35 in Robotics
I have a project I have been toying with for a while, and I am looking for some feedback on the feasibility of it actually working and if so, what sensors would best suit my needs?

I have a Boe-Bot(master) that will roam freely, making decisions where to go based on IR object detection and the bump sensors. Now, the hard part, I'd like a second Boe-Bot(slave), to receive location data from the master, more than likely GPS data, and follow the master's path, with the ability to vary the distance at which it follows. The maximum distance would be about 3 meters. It will also need to sense when movement of the master Boe-Bot stops, and then pull up next to it and wait for movement to begin again. Finally, the keychain transmitter would be used to start/stop the slave, and set the distance between three values, let's say close, not so close, and max(3m).

Utilizing the GPS solution, I'm assuming I would use individual GPS's on each Boe-Bot and an RF communication link between the two. The slave would compare the masters location with it's own, and follow according to the specified parameters. My questions are as follows;

Will GPS give me the accuracy needed to maintain a 2-3 foot distance without the slave running into the master?

Is there a way to accomplish the same task without GPS, maybe triangulation of the masters position using the RF signal?

Is this application too advanced for the Basic Stamp? I hope not, because I really like the product and the community surrounding Parallax!

Thanks,

Al

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-06-02 15:53