Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Variable alias question — Parallax Forums

Variable alias question

Dave WDave W Posts: 19
edited 2005-06-02 18:31 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

My first post.· A search didn't turn up anything.· I'm just learning the Stamp Microcontroller and have a couple of homework boards with the Stamp 2 on them.· I've built a device which discharges rechargeable batteries under heavy load, one cell at a time.· It's a very simple program and I do have it working.· It puts a 1 ohm load on the battery and counts the seconds until the cell reaches the 1 volt level.

Now my question.· In order to make the the program readable, I tried to assign the variable name, "LED_Bat_Level" to the OUTB reserved variable.· That works, but only if I use decimal constants for setting the values.· If I try to use binary values (more convenient), the program runs, but the LED which indicates the status of the discharge never turns on.· Here is the code snippet which sets this up:

Red CON 4
Grn CON 1
Off CON 0
LED_Bat_Level VAR OUTB
LED_Bat_Level = Off······ 'turn battery level LED off

It's a bi-color LED and I'm using I/O pins 4 and 6 to drive it.· So, I would like to make Red = %0010 and Grn = %1000.· It's much clearer, at least to me, to do it that way, because I can more easily change the pins I'm using.· The decimal values work, the binary ones don't.· What am I missing?· Right now my controller only discharges one cell.· I plan to add 3 more cells and discharge 4 at a time, all independently, and measure the time it takes each cell to drop to 1 volt.· This tester has already uncovered one NiMh cell out of a 4 cell group which is way too weak to be used.· The other 3 cells are fine.· I think you can see the advantage of using binary numbers to specify the states of the output pins.