Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
In need of some advice. — Parallax Forums

In need of some advice.

bhaanbhaan Posts: 37
edited 2005-06-01 19:49 in BASIC Stamp
I am working on a project where I have multiple low and high gas pressure switches. Each switch is wired to a standard 120 V AC line, when the gas pressure gets too low (or too high) the switch will interupt the line. I am trying to use a BS2 to monitor these switches, but I don't know what to use with the stamp to detect whether or not the 120 V AC line is on or off (how to get this 120 V AC to logic inputs). There is probably a fairly simple solution, however I am very new to using Basic Stamps.

Any advice or ideas?

Thanks,
Brian

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-06-01 19:48
    You could put a 120Vac relay in series and then when the power switches off it would change states of the relay, in which you would have the stamp monitoring the contacts of the relay!
    This is one of the simpler ways to do it.
    You could also use hall affect sensors that detect the AC flux of a powered 120V line. However, if you were in a noisy environment (electrically and magnetically) it might not work for you.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·

Steve
    http://ca.geocities.com/steve.brady@rogers.com/index.html
    "Inside each and every one of us is our one, true authentic swing. Something we was born with. Something that's ours and ours alone. Something that can't be learned... something that's got to be remembered."
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2005-06-01 19:49
    Brian,

Firstly, you mentioned "monitoring". So you are not going to try to control the valves, correct?· Also, what are the consequences of a Stamp system failure? And what kind of enviroment are you operating in?