Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to create bending motion? — Parallax Forums

How to create bending motion?

Mike CMike C Posts: 12
edited 2005-05-25 04:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hi All, blush.gif

I have a BS2 Homework Board with a couple continous rotation servos and standard servos from parallax. I wanted to create movement in a way that bends a tube or pipe...I thought about using pulleys but I'm not a mechanical engineer, thus it is way over my head.

In short, the project will be using a tube with a photoresistor at the tip to find the darkest/lightest area and the tube would bend towards that direction.

TIA.

Comments

• shandarshandar Posts: 12
    edited 2005-05-23 12:45
    Like a robotic arm with a tube attached to it?
  • BorisBoris Posts: 81
    edited 2005-05-23 12:45
    Do you have to have the "bending motion". Can you just have this tube with the photo-resistor rotate ?

Have 2 motors: one that rotates the tube horizontal to the ground and the other to raise it up and down.

Pretty much a cylindrical coordinate system.
  • Mike CMike C Posts: 12
    edited 2005-05-23 16:28
    I would prefer having the bending motion....
    kinda like a tube bending like a fiber optic cable tongue.gif

But Boris, how would i move the tube up and down?

Thanks again.
  • BorisBoris Posts: 81
    edited 2005-05-23 16:50
    Of the top of my head I can come up with two different setups.

1) Have the horizontal motion motor with a plate attached to it. Then on that plate position another motor (Stepper or Servo)·with its axis being parallel to the ground.

or

2) Same horizontal motor setup but have a worm drive type rod pusing up/down on the tube for the up/down movement. The worm drive rod can be positioned closer or further away from the axis of rotation of the tube in order to control rates· and range of motion.

················/
    ······ ·······/
    ··········· / |
    ········· /·· |
    ········ /····|· /\
    ······ /····· |·
    ···· O······ |· \/