Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is I2c the same as SMBus? — Parallax Forums

Is I2c the same as SMBus?

FGFGFGFG Posts: 2
edited 2005-05-18 16:47 in BASIC Stamp
I am interested in using an adm1031, which is a fan controller ic, with my Basic Stamp 2. The adm1031 connects via the SMBus however parallax documentation and examples seem only to describe the I2c interface. I believe they are the same. I2c = Phillips, SMBus = Intel. What's going on? Are they the same?

Also would it be worth upgrading my BS2 to a BS2p with the additional commands for I2c, or maybe the Javelin which seems to have had these features for quite a while.

Thanks - FGFG

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-05-18 00:50
    FGFG, only you would be able to tell if the SMBus is an implementation of the I2C bus. Unfortunately, to tell you have to try it out (unless some Parallax person has already tried -- I've been haunting the Forum for two years, and this is the first mention I've seen of the SMBus).

The Javelin is quite a jump from the BS2 (Does the same stuff, but in Java. You get much better bragging rights using Java than Basic, though)
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-05-18 01:43
    Hello,

·· Find out all about SMBus (Defined by Intel) here:

http://www.smbus.org/

http://www.smbus.org/specs/

Apparently, I2C is the backbone of SMBus architecture, used for ACPI in computers.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • Peter VerkaikPeter Verkaik Posts: 3,956
    edited 2005-05-18 07:54
    Here is an article that focusses on the differences:
    http://www.maxim-ic.com/appnotes.cfm/appnote_number/356

regards peter
    ·
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2005-05-18 15:31
    Hi Peter,