Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New project: Mitutoyo EV counter + Basic stamp + ezVid2 = Production Gage — Parallax Forums

New project: Mitutoyo EV counter + Basic stamp + ezVid2 = Production Gage

its_gotta_hemiits_gotta_hemi Posts: 6
edited 2005-05-18 18:09 in BASIC Stamp
(skip this post and go to the next if you want to jump to the meat of the project)
Hi all, I've been lurking the group for months now and I've finally jumped in with a project that I hope will generate a lot of interest and a lot of help from everyone. first a little about me. I became insterested in the stamp when i was doing research on what it would take to build an autopilot for the experimental plane that I'm building. So about a year ago I bought a whole bunch of goodies from Parallax and started playing. I don't much about electronics but I'm slowly learning the basics. My background is more in the line of programing which I have been doing for several years. My job is at an aluminum die casting plant in which I am the supervisor for the quality inspection departments. My expertise is in CMM's and all the hardware and software goodies that go with them. I'm posting this project on here in hopes that people will help me build it and I will learn along the way. When the project is complete, I will make sure all the code and schematics are posted in the projects section for everyone to use. I have been pro open source for all of my programing career so to me nothing is proprietory. Unless it's product specific and is owned by the company I work for. That will not be a problem with this gage. The gist of the gage that I need to build is a simple gage to check the machine stock condition of a cast part. I have built 2 gages of this type already but they are lab gages and are slaved to a PC. What I need now is a gage that will be set on the production floor and used by the operators. The environment will be harsh, high heat and humididty. I want to build the controller outlined below fo