Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which STAMP DOS Editor? — Parallax Forums

Which STAMP DOS Editor?

AlBot9AlBot9 Posts: 2
edited 2005-05-14 08:30 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone!

I'm just getting started in STAMP programming and already I'm having issues. I have an old 486 laptop that I bought an ebay for $40 and I think it should be enough to talk to a piece of hardware. My "real" laptop is a 2.8g powerhouse and doesn't have a serial port. I don't want to get the USB->SERIAL adapter either because I've had problems with those in the past. This little DOS laptop really should be enough and I'm comfortable using DOS.

Anyway, that said..

I see 6 different versions of the DOS STAMP EDITOR on the CD. But I don't know which one to use and I can't find any references to the DOS editors on the PARALLAX web site.

So which version of DOS EDITOR should I use?

STAMP.EXE, STAMP2, STAMP2E.EXE, STAMP2sx.EXE???

Help... confused.gif
thanks

jac.

Comments

• ForrestForrest Posts: 1,341
    edited 2005-05-14 03:05
    Which Stamp are you trying to program? (BS1, BS2, BS2e, BS2X, BS2P, BS2P40, BS2PE, BS2PX)
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-05-14 08:15
    Hello,

·· The DOS editor is no longer supported.· If you have a copy of the old DOS editor you could use it to program older Stamp modules, but the newer chips require the Windows version of the editor.

·· If you need a reliable USB to Serial converter, we sell one that is compatible with the BASIC Stamps.· Please see the link below for more information.

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=800-00030

Post Edited By Moderator (Aristides Alvarez (Parallax)) : 5/15/2005 12:44:47 AM GMT
  • GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2005-05-14 08:30
    The Editor names matches the Stamp names:

Stamp.exe - BS1
    Stamp2.exe - BS2
    Stamp2e.exe - BS2e
    Stamp2sx.exe - BS2sx
    Stamp2p.exe - BS2p24 / BS2p40