Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
more than 4 digits from barcode — Parallax Forums

more than 4 digits from barcode

mrgoshmrgosh Posts: 23
edited 2005-05-18 00:17 in BASIC Stamp
Hey guys. Ok, heres a new one.

I'm reading hex formatted barcodes into the basic stamp. These barcodes are anywhere from 5 to 20 or so digits long. The hex formatter, as you know, will only format up to 4 digits total, giving me only a section of the barcode. I've devised a system of getting the first and last four digits of the barcode, but with a couple problems (the biggest of which is that you have to scan twice).

I'm new to this whole thing, so I was wondering if there is anyway to get more than 4 digits of a barcode assigned to a variable (or even several variables) within the program. My biggest consideration is that I would like everything to happen in one scan, as this is for an installation piece that will be used by the public, so ease of operation is paramount.

I'm using a bs2.

Any help you can offer would be appreciated.

Hearts,
-Mike

Comments

• Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2005-05-12 15:37
    Are these arriving on a serial port? If so you might stream all 20 digits into memory with SERIN using the STR modifier. Or, on the multibank Stamps with scratchpad, the SPSTR modifier. Once in memory, parse the string. Please provide more detail.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tracy Allen
    www.emesystems.com
  • mrgoshmrgosh Posts: 23
    edited 2005-05-12 17:18
    yes! They are arriving on a serial port, transferring at 9600 baud.

How would I go about using STR in this manner?

Thanks for your help,
    -Mike
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-05-12 18:36
    Mike,

·· This information is available in the help file under SERIN.
    Help File said...