Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help please, question about possibilities.... — Parallax Forums

Help please, question about possibilities....

RhinoRhino Posts: 5
edited 2005-05-17 15:36 in BASIC Stamp
I am planning on making blinkers for my car out of about 18 LED's EACH (so I will need to individually control 36 LED'S).··idea.gif· was wondering how in the world I could do this and which parallax product or kit would be best suited for this project, I am a complete newbie, I did some pascal programming in high school, but I am sure I will need a little help.· I need the LED's to come on in a sequence (order) and stay on until the last LED is lit and then come on again in the same sequence when the blinker is turned on.· The LED's are coming with 12V resistors for each LED.· Which of·the parallax·products would get the job done the best?· I also would like to have an option of having all LED's on at the switch of a button or have different patterns that they can do, but the 1st main priority is to get them hooked up in sequence with the blinkers.· Thanks in advance.
···· In Christ,
··········· Ryan roll.gif

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-05-09 17:03
    Being an admitted noobie, you should start at the beginning with our "What's A Microcontroller?" text. Once you've got that down it won't take much to get your project going -- until then, anything we offer will likely be over your head and more confusing than useful.

You can do what you want with a BS2, a few 74HC595 shift-registers, ULN2803 Darlington arrays to match each '595, and a tiny bit of code -- but read WAM first. You can download WAM from our web site.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2005-05-09 17:46
    We also offer a MAX7219 LED driver that can control up 64 discreet LEDs.· Here is a link for more information:·