Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need Help w/ Leaking Chips — Parallax Forums

Need Help w/ Leaking Chips

SunflowerSunflower Posts: 48
edited 2005-04-24 23:27 in BASIC Stamp
Need Help w/ Leaking Chips

I am having trouble with leakage or something in the ADC PCF8591 using I2C from the BS2p.

It seems I must read each channel twice because reading an adjacent prior channel drops the current channel by as much as 20%, especially noticeable when the prior channel is pulled to Vss. The reflection disappears when the prior channel is pulled to Vdd. Software and hardware are all ok. I have clean power and bypass caps. I have also replaced the PCF8591 twice from the same package. Should I be paranoid of a bad batch of chips? I have no prior experience with ADC. The mid point value of 128 drifts +/- 4 in isolation, but drops to 105 when the prior channel (tied to Vss) receives an I2COUT command.

I2COUT cport,$90,[noparse][[/noparse]%00000010] 'Channel 3
I2CIN cport,$91,[noparse][[/noparse]dummy,chan3]

I2COUT cport,$90,[noparse][[/noparse]%00000011] 'Channel 4
I2CIN cport,$91,[noparse][[/noparse]dummy,chan4]

DEBUG CRSRXY,15,0,DEC chan4," "

I2COUT cport,$90,[noparse][[/noparse]%00000011] 'Channel 4 again
I2CIN cport,$91,[noparse][[/noparse]dummy,chan4]

DEBUG CRSRXY,15,1,DEC chan4," "

I've tried leaving the oscillator on (which pulled values down a little), and used PAUSE between commands, but the problem persists. Anybody out there with experience on such anomalies?

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2005-04-23 06:03
    Sunflower -

Do you have 4.7K pull-up resistors on BOTH I2C lines as is required? If not, add them and the problem will probably disappear.

Regards,

Bruce Bates
  • SunflowerSunflower Posts: 48
    edited 2005-04-23 06:10
    Yes, the pull-ups are pulling 4 devices, all are working fine except for the ADC, which needs help.
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2005-04-23 13:33