Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
coin counter — Parallax Forums

coin counter

Grad Student JoeGrad Student Joe Posts: 1
edited 2005-04-21 19:46 in BASIC Stamp
I am a graduate student who needs help putting together a demonstration for my students.· I attempting to construct a coin sorter with an LCD ouput that outputs the sum of the change counted.· I will be using break beam sensors to detect the coins and then a program to count the coins and add the appropriate amounts to output to a serial Parralax LCD in a 4 bit mode.· I need help writing a program that will do what I need it to do.· I am a mechanical engineer, so this is all somewhat new to me.· Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• nick bernardnick bernard Posts: 329
    edited 2005-04-21 19:35
    what kind of stamp are you working with?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    " Hey! Why is there silicone on my hemostats?"
  • steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-04-21 19:46
    Hey Joe (insert Hendrix tune)....

I was working on something like this a while back....but I was more concerned with false counts and hadn't even gotten to the 'counting' stage.

You can do this any number of ways!· You can use a photo diode and detector in the same module ( http://www.katlax.com/pdf/pg_1_82.pdf·-- I just googled this real quick..but it's similar to many modules out there).

A simple LED and a photoopto will work too!· I don't know of a general output from these...but the link above shows that it'll switch V+ back to you when it's interrupted (depending on Normally Open/Closed).· The Stamp is great at reading TTL logic (+5volt and 0Volt).

I'd suggest you download the "What's a Microcontroller" text from Parallax's website to get some easy ideas on doing basic things.

You'll want to protect your stamp with an resistor in series with your sensor (Can't remember what a good value is....22k?).