Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SERIN/OUT Via Web — Parallax Forums

SERIN/OUT Via Web

MaxMax Posts: 13
edited 2005-05-05 18:34 in BASIC Stamp
Hey all, I'm a physical computing newbie who's having some trouble with his midterm.

The goal: Allow someone to press a button on a website to switch an LED on and off.

So far, my understanding of the process is that I'll need to enable Serproxy on the machine attached to the BASIC Stamp which will receive information via TCP/IP streams converted to RS-232 streams by Serproxy. I want to start by just getting SERIN to work on my local machine without Serproxy.

I did a quick search through some recent posts and found a few threads that seemed pertinent, but I'm missing a few basic assumptions somewhere and I'm hoping you folks can help me out, since I couldn't glean anything from the help files (well-written as they are).

Here's my PHP code:

`mode com1: BAUD=9600 PARITY=N data=8 stop=1 xon=off`;
$fp = fopen ("COM1:", "w+");
if (!$fp) {
    echo "Uh-oh. Port not opened.";
} else {
    $string = "2000\n"; 
    fputs($fp, $string);
    echo $string;    
    fclose ($fp);
}

Here's my BS2 code:

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.0}

MyByte VAR Byte
INPUT 7

Main:
  HIGH 2
  SERIN 16, 16384, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC MyByte]
  LOW 2
  PAUSE 500

HIGH 7
  PAUSE MyByte
  LOW 7
  PAUSE 100
  HIGH 7
  PAUSE MyByte
  LOW 7
  PAUSE 100

GOTO MAIN

I don't see why this isn't working. What I believe should happen is that $string should be converted to the length of the pause between turning the LED (connected to input pin 7). So, if $string is "2000\n" and you load the page, having already loaded the program onto the BASIC stamp, the stamp should receive $string via SERIN, pause for half a second, then proceed with HIGH 7.

What I don't understand is the exact significance of HIGH 2 and LOW 2. Is 2 the SERIN pin?

Thanks in advance, all!

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2005-04-21 06:44
    Max -