Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to get started with Parallax kits — Parallax Forums

How to get started with Parallax kits

tech12tech12 Posts: 2
edited 2005-04-26 21:37 in BASIC Stamp
I am a Mech Engineer and I work in the Control/Automation indusrty. I need to learn more about Control Circuits, Microcontrollers, Control signals...etc.·
·
I took some courses, including digital electronics and digital controls. I never had a chance to apply what I learnt in theory however.
·
So I am now looking for educational material combined with kits. I need to learn how to translate design into practical projects. But I am not looking for something that shows me just how to wire a circuit. I am interested in the why and not just the how. Ideally I want to see a book that shows the concept then the circuit and finally how to wire (I am not sure if such a thing exists).
·
I have bought some kits (not parallax), but they turned out to be not very educational.
I am thinking about buying Parallax kits, but I am not exactly sure where to start. There is a kit on "Industrial Controls", another called BOE and a third that talks about signal analysis.
·
Sorry for the lengthy post, but I would appreciate any advice on where exactly to start? I need to start ASAP, and once I start I am planning to go full speed.
·
Thank you
·

Comments

• JonbJonb Posts: 146
    edited 2005-04-17 16:47
    I'm not too sure what exactly would be best for you, so I suggest you get em all! There is a large library of projects, documentation and explanations in the download section. I suggest you read as much of them as possible.

Start off with the Basic Stamp Manual:

http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/stamps/BasicStampMan.pdf

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Post Edited (Jonb) : 4/17/2005 5:24:28 PM GMT
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-04-17 16:47
    Hello,