Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Servo Control Problem — Parallax Forums

Servo Control Problem

tsindostsindos Posts: 9
edited 2005-04-15 22:36 in BASIC Stamp
I am VERY new in robotics with fair understanding of programming. I have spent all night tonight looking for an answer to the mystery that baffles me.

I have 3 servos which I try to control via BS2. 2 servos are used to move a single rod (I needed the torque) and therefore did a small adjustment so both servos move together without one straining the other, and the 3rd servo rotates the base accordingly. The code I wrote (don't laugh but it is something new to me) is this:

·· '·{$STAMP BS2}
·· ' {$PBASIC 2.5}

·· BottomArmPulses·· VAR· Byte
·· BasePulses······· VAR· Byte
·· counterBA········ VAR· Byte
·· counterB········· VAR· Byte

· DEBUG CLS, "Enter Arm position (0-60):", CR
· DEBUGIN DEC BottomArmPulses
···· GOSUB BottomArm
· DEBUG CLS, "Enter Base position (250-1150):", CR
· DEBUGIN DEC BasePulses
···· GOSUB BaseRotate

· '===============================================================================

·· BottomArm:
·· FOR counterBA = 0 TO 20
···· PULSOUT 10, (BottomArmPulses * 15) + 250
···· 'PAUSE 20
··· ·PULSOUT 11, ((BottomArmPulses * 15) + 250) + (BottomArmPulses + 5) ' + Adjust
··· ·PAUSE 20
·· NEXT
·· RETURN
·· '=============================================================================
·· BaseRotate:
·· FOR counterB = 0 TO·100
·····PULSOUT 5, BasePulses······· '1150 is FAR LEFT··· 250 is FAR RIGHT· 700 is MIDDLE
··· ·PAUSE 10
·· NEXT
·· RETURN

My problem is thus:
When I remark anything that has to do with the first 2 servos (BottomArm), the 3rd servo (BaseRotate) works fine in every respect. When I try to combine both actions together, the 3rd servo always moves far clockwise (to the 250 and beyond...) and I cannot seem to get it working whatever I do concerning values.