Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How can a BasicStamp2 download waypoints into Garmin eTrex GPS? — Parallax Forums

How can a BasicStamp2 download waypoints into Garmin eTrex GPS?

hyeatmanhyeatman Posts: 4
edited 2005-04-13 19:45 in BASIC Stamp
Hello Everyone!!

I'm new to the Parallax form. I am working on my son's class project where we are building an electric power model boat that is beig guided by GPS to navigate around a small lake. I am using the BasicStamp 2 to parse the informatin from my handheld Garmin eTrex "Venture" GPS unit. I am working with the $GPRMB data to help steer the boat using a RC servo. My question is can I have the BasicStamp download to the GPS unit my specific WayPoints that I want the boat to navigate to. I have seen several article on reading GPS data with a Stamp but nothing about being able to communicate data back to the GPS unit. I want to be able to originate and store my WayPoints in the BasicStamp and them download them into the GPS unit. Any suggestions or ideas would be helpful. I have read several articles by Jon Williams and they are most helpful. Thanks for your help.

Hoyt Yeatman

Comments

• Lee HarkerLee Harker Posts: 104
    edited 2005-04-11 19:42
    Hoyt,
    Just curious, what part of the class project does your son get to work on?

Lee
  • hyeatmanhyeatman Posts: 4
    edited 2005-04-11 22:39
    Dear Lee:

In truth I am doing most of the planning and programming for the project but we all pitch in when it comes to undestanding the concepts and building the model and other systems.

Thanks,

Hoyt
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-04-11 22:57
    You can find the protocol on the Garmin site ... though I think it would be difficult (if not impossible) to implement on a micro as small as the BASIC Stamp.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA
  • LarryLarry Posts: 212
    edited 2005-04-12 01:37