Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
sink vs source ?? — Parallax Forums

sink vs source ??

ShoonShoon Posts: 4
edited 2005-04-17 00:18 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

Can someone please explain the difference between sink and source? I’m a beginner.

If the BS2 sources 20mA and sinks 25mA, where does the 5mA come from? That is, if the current is max at 20mA through the Stamp’s pins. ??

~shoon

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-04-05 14:23
    Simply:

Source = Connect pin to + (Vdd) side of supply
    Sink = Connect pin to - (Vss) side of supply

The difference has to do with chip construction; some microcontrollers can source and sink the same current on a pin. Also note that in addition to a maximum current per pin, there is a maximum current per group of pins that cannot be exceeded (and this value is less than the sum total of the pin max currents).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-04-05 14:37
    This should be an FAQ somewhere.

Well, you know the BS2 has a connection to Vdd and Vss to "power the chip". When you tell the BS2 to make an output high, like:

HIGH 1 ' Make pin 1 an Output, and put a High on it.

then the BS2 internally turns on a transistor to connect its Vdd to pin 1. Thus current can flow from the BS2 Vdd pin through the transistor and out Pin 1 -- thus "Sourcing" current out pin 1. (Note here we are talking by convention of 'Positive' current, which consists of 'positive' charges flowing in a 'positive' direction from high voltage (+5) toward a lower voltage (0 volts, or ground)).

When you tell the BS2 to make an output low, like: LOW 1 ' Make pin 1 an output, and put a Low on it.