Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Total Newbie... — Parallax Forums

Total Newbie...

cyberphant0mcyberphant0m Posts: 2
edited 2005-04-04 02:00 in BASIC Stamp
First off, I wanna say that I am a complete newbie when it comes to robotics, electronics, etc. I know·a bit when it comes to computers, and software , but other than that, im a total newbie. With that said, here goes:

My friend would like to try creating a system that is connected to a window. It should sense temperature in a given room, and the temperature outside. He would like it to then compare the two readings, and either open the window, or close it.

My question is this: What components would my friend need to build a system like this, and are there any resources that we can use to guide us in this project. This is obviously a reinvention of the wheel (or air conditioner) but our main concern isn't to cool the room efficiently, but to make it actually work.

Thanks in advance for any help that is provided.

Comments

• JonbJonb Posts: 146
    edited 2005-04-02 23:33
    Sounds like a fun project, I have components to suggest.

Temperature sensors: DS1620 you'll need 2, one against the glass(depends on window perhaps it will need to be placed outside)·and one exposed to the room. There are many projects in the Parallax database that use this IC. There are many different types, some use external probes to sense temperature, so whatever you deem best for the job.

http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/books/sw/exp/sw28.pdf

Processor, Microcontroller: a Basic stamp module could work nicely, or if you wish to get something smaller and more powerful and are not intimidated by assembler then the SX chips are suggested.

Window Opener: This gets tricky, as the window style affects the device that opens it, I leave this to your better judgement. Ideally an electric actuator used in car customization could slide the window open and closed(refer to monster garage)