Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp MP3 player... — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp MP3 player...

delboydelboy Posts: 6
edited 2005-04-01 15:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hi guys,

I've been playing around with my BOE & Basic Stamp 2IC for a while now and although I'd still class myself as a novice, I feel reasonably comfortable attempting a more ambitious project and want to bounce it off the experts here to see if I'm being optimistically naive (which I suspect I may be!).

Long story short, I want to attempt a project similar to the Quadravox Pet Trainer project (www.parallax.com/dl/docs/cols/nv/vol2/col/nv65.pdf) but want to use an MP3 decoder and MP3 files instead of the Quadravox ChipCorder and low-quality WAVs.

Breaking the project down into manageable chunks, here's my current 3-phase approach:

Phase 1 - Based on what I've learnt in the following two Nuts & Volts columns, develop PBASIC / Visual Basic apps to save a small (say 50k) MP3 file into a 24LC256 256k EEPROM:
www.parallax.com/dl/docs/cols/nv/vol3/col/nv88.pdf
www.parallax.com/dl/docs/cols/nv/vol3/col/nv89.pdf

Phase 2 - Acquire an STA013 MP3 decoder and a CS4334 Digital to Analog Converter and following the high-level instructions here: www.pjrc.com/tech/mp3/sta013.html attempt to pull the MP3 data from the 256k EEPROM and run it through the STA013 MP3 decoder via my Basic Stamp.

Phase 3 - Assuming the above two phases actually work, acquire either an ALFAT-SD board (www.ghielectronics.com/ALFAT-SD.htm) or the Spark Fun SD breakout board (www.sparkfun.com/shop/index.php?shop=1&cart=213632&cat=1&itemid=331&) and read the MP3 data directly from an SD/MMC card into the STA013.

I realise this is all pretty ambitious, but is it even realistic? I know the Basic Stamp is considered "slow" relative to chips like the SX - is it capable of streaming the data from an EEPROM to the MP3 decoder fast enough? Should I perhaps consider the SX instead?

Any advice / pointers would be most appreciated guys!