Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SASM error — Parallax Forums

SASM error

dufflingduffling Posts: 73
edited 2005-04-07 18:54 in General Discussion
when attempting to compile an Sx/b with some assm in there
i get the following error

SASM was unable to create the .SYM file file may be open in another application

any ideas?
·

Comments

  • KiwiKiwi Posts: 85
    edited 2005-03-29 09:47
    i had this weekend the same problem, i was running the sx software and i press the stand-by button of the laptop.(i had to stop off the wife, because diner was served)

    it went in standby, and after i restarted the laptop ,it opened the sx-software, i press the program button and then it happend: I had the same error. I close Sx software and restarted and everything was ok.

    ciao
  • dufflingduffling Posts: 73
    edited 2005-03-29 09:47
    I found out that this Line in my sx/b program was causing the crash

    \ buttonone =rb.0

    \ jnb buttonONE,button ' jump to button subroutine when bit = 0

    for some reason if i have the commented code attached to this line it would crash
    i took the comment out and it was fine??
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-03-29 11:57
    "buttonone=rb.0" is NOT a valid sasm instruction. Either remove the "\" or change it to "MOVB buttonone,rb.0"
    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video Display Module" Available Now.

    www.sxvm.com

    "A problem well defined, is a problem·half solved."
    ·
  • dufflingduffling Posts: 73
    edited 2005-03-29 16:42
    aha .. yes i just found that just before your post thanks again
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-03-29 16:45
    you want:

    \buttonone·· equ·· rb.0


    buttonone=rb.0 is a BASIC directive. The above expression equates the two as being synonymous, so wherever in your code you write buttonone, when the assembler passes through it will replace all occurances of buttonone with rb.0 before doing final assembly. If buttonone is a seperate variable that you assign the value of rb.0 then use the MOVB instruction like Bean said.
    ·
  • dufflingduffling Posts: 73
    edited 2005-03-29 16:45
    actually .. i just tested that and the program still compiles and works with the line \ buttonone = rb.0

    why would that be?
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-03-29 16:48
    Ah *slaps himself for not entirely reading your post*, SX/B is being smart enough to know what you mean. Your actual problem is the single quote mark you used to make your comment, use a semicolon instead -> ";".

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
  • dufflingduffling Posts: 73
    edited 2005-03-29 16:49
    you just answered my question thanks..
  • PJMontyPJMonty Posts: 983
    edited 2005-03-30 01:32
    Duffling,

    Was the "Unable to create..." dialog the only error you got? No error messages in the status bar? I know you've figured out the problem by now, but is there any chance you could either post your source code or send me a private message with it? Preferably you could send me the code modified back to the way it was that caused the error message. Even though you got the problem fixed, I would just like to see what is going on under the hood to see if there is some way to make the IDE provide better feedback.
      Thanks, PeterM
  • dufflingduffling Posts: 73
    edited 2005-03-31 05:11
    well i think it was dialog only error .. but the suggestions have cured the problem .. the assembler was getting caught up on my line

    / led = rb.0

    which should have been

    /led equ rb.0

    if u still need my source let me know and ill post it
  • PJMontyPJMonty Posts: 983
    edited 2005-03-31 06:22
    Duffling,

    If you can post it that would be great. I just want to see whether or not the IDE could give any better feedback on an error like this.
      Thanks, PeterM
  • dufflingduffling Posts: 73
    edited 2005-03-31 11:05
    ok ill try to track down the file .. i was experimenting one day .. so ill have to dig thru a few source files to find the one that caused the error

    ill PM you once ive found it
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-03-31 12:07
    Peter, same thing happens in SX/B if you try to create a variable named "Global"

    Global VAR BYTE

    This gets compiled to:

    Global EQU 0x0C

    First I get a RTE, then the dialog about the .SYM file.

    P.S. Peter in the latest 3.00.07 BetaX, it is flagged as a missing label (no RTE).

    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video Display Module" Available Now.

    www.sxvm.com

    "A problem well defined, is a problem·half solved."


    Post Edited (Bean) : 3/31/2005 3:50:38 PM GMT
  • PJMontyPJMonty Posts: 983
    edited 2005-04-04 03:13
    Bean,

    Check out the SASM PDF help file. "Global" is actually a SASM keyword that is the same as "equ". So writing:

    Global equ 1
    



    is the same as writing

    equ equ 1
    



    As far as the parser is concerned, it sees "equ" and wonders why there was no label in front of it as in:

    ThisLabel equ 2
    



    Hence the error about the missing label is there because, well, the label is missing.

    I have to send a quick note to Gunther to have him update the keyword list for SASM in the SX_Key manual. There is a typo on page 78 where it says

    GLOBALID
    ID

    Somewhere the actual keyword "GLOBAL" got concatenated with the next keywrod "ID", which was then also added as a separate keyword.
      Thanks, PeterM
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-04-07 05:27
    Peter,
    Is there ANY word that is NOT allowed in a comment (after a [noparse];)[/noparse] ?
    I am trying to bring in some assembly code into an SX/B program and I'm getting the dreded RTE followed by the "could not create .sym file" error dialog.
    Now SX/B is currently echoing the assembly line in a comment following the line. For example

    NOP ; NOP

    Now this assembly code uses MACRO ENDM REPT and such, are there any such word not allowed in a comment ?

    I would send you the file, but it's a couple thousand line long.

    BUT it does assmeble fine if I use the SX/B "INCLUDE" command (which doesn't echo everything).

    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video Display Module" Available Now.

    www.sxvm.com

    "A problem well defined, is a problem·half solved."
    ·
  • PJMontyPJMonty Posts: 983
    edited 2005-04-07 17:25
    Bean,

    There shouldn't be any word not allowed in a comment. Of course, it's possible a bug exists that causes such a problem. It could also be that some other, unrelated issue is causing what appears to be a problem with the word NOP inside a comment.

    Have you tried to replicate this on a smaller scale? You're right that a piece of source code thousands of lines long is not very helpful. However, whittling this down to something smaller (say a few dozen lines) is helpful. Furthermore, the time spent trying to create a smaller piece of source code that demonstrates the problem will also let you know if the problem is what you think it is, or if something else is at fault.
      Thanks, PeterM
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-04-07 17:29
    Peter,
    I will try to duplicate the problem on a smaller scale. But I can tell you that when I compile the same code without the comments, it assembles fine.
    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video Display Module" Available Now.

    www.sxvm.com

    "A problem well defined, is a problem·half solved."
    ·
  • PJMontyPJMonty Posts: 983
    edited 2005-04-07 17:37
    Bean,

    I appreciate that the code assembles differently without the comments, but that doesn't mean something else isn't going on. Just as a verification, have you tried creating a trivial file with "NOP ; NOP" as one of the source lines to see if that's the problem? If you believe that the problem lies with the word "nop" in a comment, then that should trigger it. If not, then the problem is probably something else, isn't it? Have you diff'ed a version with and without the comments to prove that the only thing going away is the comments? My concern is that removing the comments programmatically may contain a bug that is actually changing the meaning of the source code by removing something that is not comment related.
      Thanks, PeterM
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-04-07 18:54
    Good point, I'll investigate further.
    Bean.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video Display Module" Available Now.

    www.sxvm.com

    "A problem well defined, is a problem·half solved."
    ·
Sign In or Register to comment.