Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
rechargeable battery on board? I have access 2intermittent power @ a mechanica — Parallax Forums

rechargeable battery on board? I have access 2intermittent power @ a mechanica

weezerweezer Posts: 15
edited 2005-04-03 20:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hi Everyone,· I am really enjoying learning stamp working from reading the vast prior discussions.· I am an artist and have a robotic piece that spins around on a bearing made out of a VCR head with a two track "motor brush" style power feed.· It is 12V and runs a bunch of motors, and a car antenna device which I have rigged to do something else.· It appears to feed power continuously, but even with a second pair of brushes, I think there are imperceptibly brief interruptions, which cause the stamp to be in a constant state of reset.· So I have a 9v battery which can drive a couple relays and the stamp, but I need to ship this thing to an out of state show.· Ideally I need·a circuit to trickle charge the 9v, so it is always engaged, but I dont really understand this kind of electronics, and most circuits seem to require everything else be disconnected to charge.· I won't be there and the curator or registrar will definitely not change batteries for me.

Does anyone have an idea?

The transister driver idea already saved my bacon on the relay.· Thanks again for an active and informative forum.

Randy Polumbo
randy@3-dcon.com
www.polumbo.com

Comments

• KenMKenM Posts: 657
    edited 2005-03-27 18:37
    First question is what kind of 9v battery is it?

The type you purchase at about any drug store, gas station or grocery store? To my knowledge those are not rechargeable.

Do you have a schematic of your circuit you can post?
  • weezerweezer Posts: 15
    edited 2005-03-27 19:00