Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to connect /network 2 or more BS2 stamps ? — Parallax Forums

How to connect /network 2 or more BS2 stamps ?

koehn29koehn29 Posts: 6
edited 2005-03-27 06:42 in BASIC Stamp
I'm very new to this hobby, and the reason that i'm interested is that I need to build a machine control system. I need to build a system that has 20 output pins, and 20 input pins. (or about)

·My question is: can I setup a communication system where I can input a high signal on pin 1 stamp 1, and
specify that if (pin1,stamp1) is high,· then (pin 14, stamp3) is high. and so on...
welcome any suggestions!· smile.gif Ken

P.S. How can I amplify the stamp output signal to run a electrohydralic porportional·valve coil that peaks at 12v,3amps ?

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2005-03-25 13:44
    ·· The short answer is Yes, you can do the things you've asked about.

·· Suggestions?·Your project covers several of the fuzzier areas of control projects. In order to make any headway at all, you're going to have to break your project into bite sized pieces. I'd suggest the following approach ( with the Stamp Help files firmly in hand!):

··· 1. Take Stamp 1 and program it so it uses serial output to send some data to a PC or laptop. It will reinforce your understanding of baud rate, transmit parameters and string manipulation.

··· 2. Take Stamp 1 and set it up to receive a few characters from a PC running either the stamp debug screen or Hyperterminal. Experiment with getting the stamp to receive a certain character then turn on a particular output. Again, this will increase your understanding of the serial communications.

··· 3. Now, get stamp 2 to receive some data from stamp 1. Use the Stamp help file description of the Serin/Serout commands. There are some good examples there that will get you to a working example quickly.