Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
POV (persistance of Vision) — Parallax Forums

POV (persistance of Vision)

Ray IddingsRay Iddings Posts: 47
edited 2005-03-24 21:35 in BASIC Stamp
So I was sitting around tonight and I wondered if I could make my BS2 (I guess Rev G) BOE rev C do Persistence of Vision.(move LEDs back and forth fast enough while the LEDs turn on and off makes words appear in air.)·Now first I am not an engineer nor do I play one on TV, I have no idea what is involved in this I just thought I would tinker.

So I hooked up 9 LEDs and 9 470 ohm resistors and a common ground. I used pins IN0-IN8

First I tryed some simple commands to the BOE i.e.:

'·· {$STAMP BS2}
'·· {$PBASIC 2.5}
Main:
· DO
· GOSUB All_Off
· GOSUB All_On
· LOOP
'
[noparse][[/noparse] Subroutines ]
'
All LEDs off
All_Off:
··· LOW 8
····· LOW 7
······· LOW 6
··········· LOW 5
··············· LOW 4
··················· LOW 3
······················· LOW 2
··························· LOW 1
······························· LOW 0

'
All_On
All_On:
· HIGH 8
··· HIGH 7
····· HIGH 6
······· HIGH 5
········· HIGH 4
·············· HIGH 3
··················· HIGH 2
························ HIGH 1
····························· HIGH 0

This blinks them on and off or should I say flickers. I add Pause 500 and turned some on some off you get the idea.

So just from this little experment should I assume that POV needs a Timer, that simple letting the code loop is not enough of a delay? (you know like ON is a drum beat on off on on off.)

I mean the idea is a pendulum swinging back and forth spelling letters and what not. Any thoughts? I mean even if this can't be done without an external time I think I still want to try and write a program that blinks the LED's because then I want an Idea of how to write tighter code, which I assume means to pratice.

Anyway I'm not curing cancer just foolin around any ideas?

Thanks

Ray
·

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491