Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Learning TV Remote using a Basic stamp — Parallax Forums

Learning TV Remote using a Basic stamp

Basic JimBasic Jim Posts: 106
edited 2011-10-12 19:57 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

Although I'm new to the Basic Stamp (Just got one last week). I am amazed at its power and versatility as well as all the projects readily available. One project that I would like to try building would be to make a true 'LEARNING' TV remote control where you would aim you present TV remote at it and it would record the IR stream feed to it. You could then replace that dog-chewed remote with your snazzy Basic Stamp remote! To my surprise, I cannot find any projects that have done this. Seems to me a project like that would already have been done if it were possible. Is there a technical reason that a Bs2 couldn't do it? If it has been done, could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in adanvce,
Jim

Comments

• K de JongK de Jong Posts: 154
    edited 2005-03-19 00:07
    Hi Jim,

You could start with an IR-Buddy (sold by Parallax) to test your idea on the widely used Philips RC5 code. When you have that working you can try to go to more exotic IR-codes.

The IR-buddy is easy to use and works reliable.

Regards and succes,

Klaus
  • Basic JimBasic Jim Posts: 106
    edited 2005-03-19 00:40
    Thank you Klaus. I will order one this evening and get going on this project. Do you know if the philips RC5 code is similar to a Zenith TV code? I have a lot to learn in this area but it should be fun!

Best,
    Jim
  • The Dead BugThe Dead Bug Posts: 73
    edited 2005-03-19 02:16
    Jim,