Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Another newbie needs suggestion — Parallax Forums

Another newbie needs suggestion

Dr_LomaxDr_Lomax Posts: 3
edited 2005-03-11 01:18 in BASIC Stamp
I want to use the stamp module to create a remote controller for my PC. I am wondering which module & board should I get? I am currently a PhD student at Georgia Tech.

I want to perform the follwoing tasks:

1. Read and understand IR signals fired from a IR remote (will require IR reciever from components page).
2. Send ASCII text and strings from from the serial /usb of the dev board and display them on the Hyperterminal
3. Read IR signals from a remote, decode them and send Binary/Hex equivalent Strings to display on the Hyperterminal for further processing to recognize which key was pressed.

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-03-10 03:08
    The Basic Stamp 2 should meet your needs!
    Get the Board Of Education (BOE)...it comes with an onboard regulator, programming port and a small breadboard for prototyping!

You'll want some IR decoder modules!· you can buy IR LEDs and detectors...but these aren't what you want (at least as far as the LEDs go).
    Parallax has an IR kit on their site too!· go check it out....a product called IR Buddy comes to mind too!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·

Steve
    http://ca.geocities.com/steve.brady@rogers.com/index.html
    "Inside each and every one of us is our one, true authentic swing. Something we was born with. Something that's ours and ours alone. Something that can't be learned... something that's got to be remembered."
  • Dr_LomaxDr_Lomax Posts: 3
    edited 2005-03-10 04:15
    The IR buddy seems to be pretty pricey as compared to just the $3 IR receiver. However, I only need to recieve signals from a remote, I believe the IR buddy does 2-way communcation. Wont I just need to connect the IR reciever to one of the IO pins?
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815