Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
basic stamp project for an elevator — Parallax Forums

basic stamp project for an elevator

Mark_BMark_B Posts: 9
edited 2005-03-09 22:00 in BASIC Stamp
I work on elevators for a living and am constantly dealing with intermittent problems.· I want to build a circuit that will register simulated pushbutton inputs so I can run the car for a period of time before I put it back in service.· I want a total of 16 outputs, and I want one output to go on every 60 seconds in a random pattern.· To set the call, I need to pick a 24vdc relay that draws 25ma.· These relays have a common controller ground·and need a·+24v to pick.· ·I could build the circuit from scratch, but I would prefer to buy an off the shelf solution to save time and hopefully cost.· Does someone offer a pre-engineered·pcb or kit that has a socket for a bs2 and 16 output circuits that use miniaturized relays or transistors?· Also, I am ok with electronics but have no programming experience.··· I think I can eventually hack my way through the code, but any ideas would be appreciated...thanks.

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-03-08 21:26
    I'm sure somebody makes such a beast. I don't know personally, but I'm sure somebody does.

One point -- you probably don't want 'random' action. You want action that you KNOW about in advance, and can VERIFY executed correctly.

So select a set of floors, select some times, put it all in a loop, and let it go. A nice pattern could be "go to top floor. Go to bottom floor, go to top - 1, go to bottom + 1, ..." etc.

The approximately 60 seconds part is very easy with the BS2 -- just do a PAUSE 60000.
  • Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,557
    edited 2005-03-08 21:30
    I agree, you probably do not want 'random' action. Is there anyway you could monitor and log a working unit?

"play back" the sequences that were previously logged as a macro and do your testing that way.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔