Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Multiple Nodes on RS485 Network — Parallax Forums

Multiple Nodes on RS485 Network

ABaylogABaylog Posts: 4
edited 2005-03-07 14:14 in BASIC Stamp
Please bear with me as I have no previous experience in the world of Stamps or 485 networking. I am working on designing and building a network to serve as an emergency alarm/alert system.·The system needs to be efficient and low cost since the project budget is·~$400.·Since the system will 5 nodes we are considering using 5·BS2 OEM kits to save money.

There will be nodes in 4 rooms and the main base station will be located in the nurse's station. Each node should have the option of two types of alarm and a·system reset as local inputs. The local outputs will be three LEDs.·The first signifies alert 1 was sent, second LED signifies that second alarm type is sent, and the third LED signifies that the·Alarm was acknowledged in the base station. A fourth output·that is being considered is a relay to drive a 120AC light bulb circuit. The·fourth output is·but a minor concern at this point.·The inputs will be push button switches·which are connected to input pins of the stamp. I have seen·the wiring diagrams for the switches and understand·how they should be connected.

The·base station should have an acknowledge button as its only local input. The output of the base station will be a panel with multiple·LEDs indicating from which room the signal was received, and which type of alarm it is.···Each alarm output can be coded with a label indicating which room with two LEDs indicating the alarm type. Also considered for this base node is a relay circuit to power a light bulb which is connected in the hallway as a secondary indicator.

Right now we are considering the TI SN75176A transceiver chip to send a signal over the network. The distance from one end of the system to the other is approximately 250'.