Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stupid Newbie Trick — Parallax Forums

Stupid Newbie Trick

CharlieCCharlieC Posts: 14
edited 2005-03-05 17:31 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to microcontrollers, bought the homework board and the 16 channel servo controller, but found that the docs show how to hook up the BOE but not the homework board.· Has anybody done this?· I was told that I need three power sources but am still unclear on exactly how they are connected.

Please be gental as I am microcontroller challanged.

Charlie

Comments

• ForrestForrest Posts: 1,341
    edited 2005-03-05 05:18
    I'm not 100% positive, but I'm pretty sure you can use that controller with your Homework board. Check out Chapter 4 in your 'What's a Micontroller' book (which you probably got with your Homework board). If not, you can download the 'What's a Micontroller' book here www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/siccurriculum/documentation_sic_curriculum.asp

Chapter 4 show's you how to connect a single servo to the Homework board - and I'm pretty sure you connect the controller board the same way. You'll probably need more power to drive more than 1 servo - so I suggest building a small +5V power supply using a 9 volt battery and a 7805 regulator as shown here www.hut.fi/Misc/Electronics/circuits/psu_5v.html

Be sure and connect the grounds (Vss) of the Homework board and your external +5V power supply together.

Post Edited (Forrest) : 3/5/2005 5:38:47 AM GMT
  • rounderrounder Posts: 18
    edited 2005-03-05 06:02
    You only need 2 power sources, 1 is obvious a 9 volt battery on the homework board. The SSC needs 2 power sources, 1 comes from the homework board via the cable included with the ssc, the other you have to provide. For getting started a simple 4 AA battery holder will suffice. Plug this in on the appropriate place on the ssc, read on for hookup and some pics.