Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
help on a new project in integrating a pressure, gas concentration and temperat — Parallax Forums

help on a new project in integrating a pressure, gas concentration and temperat

FrogmanFrogman Posts: 1
edited 2005-03-05 03:31 in BASIC Stamp
The project: I need to build a simple device/interface that can read the outputs of an analog gas concentration sensor, a digital pressure sensor and an analog or digital temperature sensor. This device will then be connected to a pda via its serial interface. The pda would act as a real-time gui front end of the readings of the sensors. I would be using
NSbasic, Appforge or other development tool for the pda to make the necessary interface.
Though I have developed programs before for pda's (palm & pocketpc), I havent had any experience with integrating the pdas with external devices. When it comes to electronics, I would say that I am just a hobbyist, but will be willing to learn with your guidance. Could someone point me out to the right direction?

the sensors:
pressure sensor http://www.intersema.com/site/technical/ms5535.php
oxygen sensor http://www.oxygenanalyzer.com/AI-Specs.htm (PSR-11-39-JD / JD1 / JD2)
temperature - any would do

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-03-05 00:44
    That stamp will certainly do those things....but some extra circuitry might be needed!· nothing too serious...but an Analog to Digital Converter would be add-on.· Depending on the resolution you need, I'd recommend the LTC1298...I think you can connect 4 sensors to it.

what you really need to know is 'what does each sensors output look like'.· Based on these answers, you'll know how to 'bring them in' to the stamp!