Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie with Application Question — Parallax Forums

Newbie with Application Question

JennJenn Posts: 3
edited 2005-03-04 17:54 in BASIC Stamp
Hey,

I am an aero engineer who knows next to nothing·about electronics.
However,·I am very·interested in microcontrollers and am·eager·to learn.

I am currently working on a data acquisition project and I·have·a need to verify the 5-bit pattern·being "streamed"·from a "high-speed" DIO card. Right now I am looking at 5 LEDs and its· not of much use. I was thinking of·finding a way to convert the·binary to BCD and then display it·with an LCD. I·looked around but could not find a·binary to BCD IC and·all the examples I could find for doing something remotely like this used microcontrollers. If the best way to do this is using a microcontroller then great - I wanted to learn anyway! But then again, maybe I am totally off-track and I don't even know it.

My question is: Am I on the right track? If so, can anyone give me a clue on how to get this working ASAP. If not, can someone set me straight?

Thanks,
Jenn

Comments

• kb2hapkb2hap Posts: 218
    edited 2005-03-03 19:56
    I think it could fairly easily be done with a micro. you'd need to post more specs though.
    how fast is the io changing? by verifying what do you mean exactly? are you always looking for the same thing in the io. would you keep storage of the info. ect ect ect
    you get the point

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    DTQ
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-03-03 20:13
    And what do you mean "Streamed"?

Typically, a DIO card would present a set of bits, then give a 'strobe' to indicate when the bits should be read. The card would then setup the next set of bits, then issue the next strobe.

Depending on speed, this COULD be read by a BS2. If it was being done at 1000 strobes per second or less, it certainly could. So, more clarification please.