Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New guy with questions — Parallax Forums

New guy with questions

ducktapeguyducktapeguy Posts: 4
edited 2005-09-26 16:32 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, I'm very new to all electrical and computer stuff, so bear with me if these are dumb questions.· I've got a project where I need to control a couple of servos of a steering shaft.· I was trying to come up with a simple solution, when I friend recommended using a basic stamp to control it.· I started looking at the possibilities, and I think it might work.· However, since I'm completely ignorant at this, I had a few questions.

1)· Can I use the input from an optical or regular mouse to control it?· I think it is some sort of square wave, but I have no experience.· Anyone know?

2)· Assuming it is some sort of encoder that outputs a square wave, can a basic stamp be programmed to keep the position?· For example, the steering shaft is able to rotate 1080 degrees or so, but a servo only rotates for 180 degrees.· If I were to turn the steering wheel from center and move the servo, the servo will hit it's limit a lot sooner than the steering shaft.· When I turn it back, will it be able to keep track of where the original zero (i.e. centered position)·is?

3) Which basic stamp is best for this application?· I see a lot of choices for the basic stamp, and even a servo control kit which looks very similar to what I want, but will it work?· I already have servos and stuff,·but if it's easier to get everything in that package then I'd be willing to pay a little extra.· I just want to make sure this is possible before I start spending money.

·

Comments

• kelvin jameskelvin james Posts: 531
    edited 2005-03-01 07:09