Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help on memory and sensors — Parallax Forums

Help on memory and sensors

EvanEvan Posts: 7
edited 2005-04-06 12:30 in BASIC Stamp
Hello. I'm a newbie to all this STAMP stuff... I am interested in using the BS2 for a sensor in this compressed air engine I am making.

I need to measure the rotational speed of the flywheel on the engine. So what kind of tachometer could I build with BS2? I figure I could build a simple optical tachometer using an optical incremental encoder (HEDS-9100) and a codewheel (HEDS-5120) on the flywheel. I dont think parallax sells these, so anyone have any suggestions on where to get these components or other types of tachometers I could build for the BS2?

Also, could someone shed a light on the memory of the BS2? So if I write a program, it will be stored in the EEPROM (meaning the program will stay there even without power)? And if I wanted to store values, would it be stored in the RAM? How big is the RAM? What I wanted to do was attach the sensor to the engine and store the measured RPMs, which could then be displayed on a computer via a terminal program. Is this possible with the BS2?

TIA.

-Evan

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2005-02-26 04:43
    Evan,

I also do machining. If you are looking for a clean solution, embed a couple of magnets on opposite sides of the flywheel. Then, you only need a hall-effect sensor and it could literally be hidden - almost non-intrusive. See my RPM display here:
    http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/robotics/machining/machining.asp

Even slicker would be to use one magnet on the hub of the flywheel. Then, the Melexis sensor would count the change in magnet poles. Very cool.

As for optical encoders, I think they involve more hardware than is necessary for this application. You could use the optical sensors in our encoder kit for the Boe-Bot, but I'm not certain they can handle higher RPMs (x 1 or 2 per revolution).