Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reading Serial Input from a RFID reader — Parallax Forums

Reading Serial Input from a RFID reader

BrainBrain Posts: 5
edited 2005-03-10 15:08 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone,

I am new to this and to the basic stamp and I was hoping someone may be able to help me...

as part of a university project I am attempting to get my stamp 2 to read in from a microchip reader. The reader reads in either a 10 or 16 digit number (inc a decimal place) and although the stamp is getting input from the reader it a) seems to bear no resemblance to the numbers on the readers screen and b) it is fluctuates.

I have just started to read in and store it in a variable a byte long and I get something resembling

This is not exact but either way it is different each time I scan the same chip and I have tried conversion formatters but nothing I try seems to resemble any ASCII or anything.

I am confused as to what a byte of the readers 16 digit number is because and I also get special characters if I ask it to print out using DEBUG NameOfVariable but numbers if I use DEBUG ? NameOfVariable.

I have read around lots but the only thing I can think of is flow control but isn't this for 2 stamps only?
be received at 9600bps in ASCII
First I thought it could be the baud rate but the reader says "All data will formatted text" and I have tried all·baud rates to this equivalent.

Also i am very new to electronics and I am using all sorts of different thickness of wires-would this matter?

I know this is a bit confusing but hopefully someone can shed some light somewhere please!

Thanks in advance.

Brain

cry.gif

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-02-24 16:10