Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Project planning - Need some input from you guys! — Parallax Forums

Project planning - Need some input from you guys!

WhipeOutWhipeOut Posts: 13
edited 2005-02-19 14:36 in BASIC Stamp
Hi!

I'm a newbie to the BS world so I guess you'll see me here with a lot of questions from now on. [noparse];)[/noparse]
I need some input and thought about a project I've been thinking of. Hear me out.

Components
BASIC Stamp 2p 24-Pin Module
4x4 Keyboard
4x20 LCD display
# Relays

Project:
In short terms: I'd like to use a "PIN-code" (Personal ID Numer) input on the keyboard to activate a sertain relay by using a BS. The LCD displays what to do and what's going on.

I've attached a drawing that show's my project the easiest way.
(Parallax Description.jpg)

Need more description?

Description.
When I enter a PIN-code of 4 digits on the keypad, the BS detects what numbers I've entered and wich order they are entered. The BS is then checks if this exact order and numbers are a PIN-code that aktivates something. If it doesn't recognize the code, the LCD displays "Incorrect PIN" or something like that. If the code is recognized, an I/O port shall go HIGH and aktivate the relay that is connected to the exact I/O pin. (OPAMP if necessary) Now the LCD displays "RELAY 1 AKTIVATED" for 10sec, and then returns to the "Enter Code" mode. Now the BS is ready to get another code that aktivates another relay. If a relay is aktivated, it can be deaktivated by entering the same code one more time, and LCD displays "RELAY 1 DEAKTIVAED".

If I'd like to change these codes without removing the BS from the circuit, it can be solved by attaching a 9pin Serial connector to the Print card.

I'v attached a circuit drawing made in OrCAD. It's a little more details on this one.
(Parallax Pin.jpg)

Well, what do all you folks out there think?? It's for a school project, so it better work... [noparse];)[/noparse]

Was this understandable?

Thoughts??

Thanks.
WhipeOut