Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Drag racing lights — Parallax Forums

Drag racing lights

RadarRadar Posts: 5
edited 2005-02-19 02:57 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, I'm new to the BS2 but have a good understanding of it.· I am having a problem with comming up with a ramdom number in my program.· Here is what I'm trying to get,· I'm making a 2 lane timing system for my self (for dragracing) the problem with the program is that when the two drivers stage (come to the line and are ready to race) I have·2nd switch ( in my hand) that I ush and it starts the racing program on the BS2 this works great, but as you know its all about reaction time and it the time between me puching the button and the green light is always the same the drivers have an easy time "guess" the green light.· I have tryed to hide the button but get accused of favoring a driver and telling him how long I will wait before pushing the button, so what I need is a way to get a random (everytime a diffurent number) to put into a "count down" loop in the program before the green light that will give me a way to "pause" the program for an unknown amount of time.· I guess the number is not that important as to is size but I'm looking for a 1 to 5 sec delay·before going on.· I have a simply counter in mind...

x = random number
a:
x = (x-1)
if x = 0 then b
goto a
b:
· ( and onto the program)

I have the basic stamp manual ver 2.0 and have tried the truely random number way they talk about in there, but I only have 5 pins left over for a random INH (what ever this is) and seem to get about the same delay everytime.

Thanks for info and Time [noparse]:)[/noparse]

Comments

• Jim McCorisonJim McCorison Posts: 359
    edited 2005-02-17 22:30