Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 to Garmin GPS - Newbie — Parallax Forums

BS2 to Garmin GPS - Newbie

JustinJustin Posts: 6
edited 2005-02-23 02:55 in BASIC Stamp
Ello folks...

Ok, so my deal is that I'm rather new to the basic stamp 2 and to electronics period.· What I'm trying to do is that I have a Garmin GPS 20SL (old, but still works) that I'm trying to interface with the basic stamp 2.· I'm using a programming board to do this.· I have two programs that I've been trying - one to just cycle through repeatedly and look for serial input from the GPS, and one to send a command to the GPS and listen for a response that should be echoed back.· Neither are working.· I've included the code for each below - any help/suggestions/links would be awesome.· I can try to give more info if needed as well.

Thanks!!
·- Justin

Code: Simple loop to get incoming data
'{$STAMP BS2}
'{$PBASIC 2.5}
DataOut VAR Word

DEBUG "Testing", CR
OUTPUT 7
INPUT 16
HIGH 7
Main:
·· SERIN 16, 16572, 1000, Timeout, [noparse][[/noparse]DataOut]· ' 4800 baud rate
·· DEBUG "DataOut: ", DataOut, CR
·· GOTO Main
Timeout:
·· DEBUG "timeout ", CR
GOTO Main
END

Code:· Trying to send command and listen for echo back
'{$STAMP BS2}
'{$PBASIC 2.5}
OUTPUT 7
INPUT 4
DataOut VAR Word

DEBUG "Testing", CR
HIGH 7
Main:
·· SEROUT 16,16572,200,[noparse][[/noparse]"$PGRMC"]
·· 'DEBUG "Data Sent: ", CR
repeat:
·· SERIN 17, 16572, 1000, Timeout, [noparse][[/noparse]DataOut]
·· DEBUG "DataOut: ", DataOut, CR
··· GOTO repeat
Timeout:
·· DEBUG "timeout ", CR
GOTO repeat
EndX:
END

·

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2005-02-17 21:58
    Justin -

Change your SERIN and SEROUT statements to use some pin port other than pin port 16. You also have a typo in the last SERIN as there is no pin port 17. Among other things, by default, ECHO is ON for data sent on pin port 16 (the DEBUG pin port) and that will certainly confuse the issue for the GPS and the Stamp.