Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LiveScience Research with a Stamp — Parallax Forums

LiveScience Research with a Stamp

bobhillierbobhillier Posts: 27
edited 2005-02-16 18:16 in BASIC Stamp
I noticed a LiveScience article called·Eek! Robo-Rats Make Their Own Rules· at http://www.livescience.com/technology/050216_robo_rat.html. The robot definately looks like a Basic Stamp. I found it interesting that such simplistic functionality is recognized as learning to adapt and demonstrate nee, not-programmed behaviour.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
······ Bob, Ottawa
W75 54 17·· N45 18 30
·········· G16 #27

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-02-16 18:10
    Thanks for the link -- that is actually our Javelin Stamp processor.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-02-16 18:16
    It is AI but very primitive, as an undergrad I sat in on a seminar by an AI research team for another university (sorry can't remember which one). They created neuro-muscleskeletal models of fish and provided it a neural net brain roughly equivalent in processing power to a goldfish's brain. The brain was only given the the following perameter: propulse your body to acheive forward motion expending the minimal amount of energy. The AI brain at first convulsed the body in an unpredictable fashion, but in a suprising short period of time, the AI model of the goldfish was swimming identically to a real goldfish. At the time of the seminar they were undergoing predetor/prey modeling, where many AI goldfish were placed in a virtual tank with pillars as obstacles and a AI shark. After all models taught themselves how to swim in isolation, they were placed in the tank together. The AI shark was given the parameter: you must eat (intercept a AI goldfish) and the AI goldfish (there were about 50 or so in the tank) were given the parameter: you must not be eaten (