Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Wireless sensor's and BS2 — Parallax Forums

Wireless sensor's and BS2

jonnyhkjonnyhk Posts: 4
edited 2005-02-15 20:50 in BASIC Stamp
Hello

I'm new with Basic Stamp, but I see it's a very nice component for use as a datalogger. I want to make many wireless/ remote sensor, like temp, current etc.
Any have a suggest to very small transmitter low current and a resiver that can be used for read many transmitter.
I think it will be the same system as a weather station.

Thank you
Jonny K. ( Italy)

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2005-02-15 09:42
    Jonny -

What sort of distance are you planning between the transmitters and the receiver? Anything over a few hundred feet will probably require a license from the issuing authority in your country.

The other issue that you will have to sort out is data collisions between competing transmitters, both/all transmitting at once.

Regards,

Bruce Bates
  • jonnyhkjonnyhk Posts: 4
    edited 2005-02-15 10:47
    Hello
    No I only like to be able to messure the temp at about 50-100m

Thanks
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-02-15 16:16
    there is a thread in the robotics forum already discussing this: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=525697

remember that when a modules specifies a distance, it is light of sight distance, if your signal must go through walls or other obstructions it will reduce the modules effective range.

Post Edited (Paul Baker) : 2/15/2005 4:20:18 PM GMT
  • steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-02-15 18:47
    Not sure about international RF spectrums...but there are some 'experimental' bands where you don't need a license but are restricted in output power.

I think you are limit to a watt or less (definately no more than a couple watts)....but have no fear...there are guys that transmit hundreds of miles on a couple hundred milliwatts (different frequency of course).