Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
12v Power Supply for mini car computer — Parallax Forums

12v Power Supply for mini car computer

DShannonDShannon Posts: 26
edited 2005-02-14 16:57 in BASIC Stamp
Hi All,
I have used the BOE and BSII to build a mini car computer (temperature, compass, etc). Now I want to actually put this in the car!

2 questions:

1) Can I directly hook up a "hot" wire (for example splicing the radio power supply) and ground to the BOE 9 volt battery clips? Will the BOE and STAMP regulate this to 5V?

2) When power supply is removed, and then applied (eg, stopping and then restarting the car), will the STAMP reset and then execute the stored basic program?

I am a bit new to this, so any guidance would be most appreciated.

THANKS!!!
-Dan
confused.gif

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-02-13 20:59
    1. The BOE has an on-board regulator (2940, I believe) which will regulate anything from 5.5 to 16 volts to +5.

2. The BS2 also has an on-board regulator, but the BOE by-passes it, which is OK.

3. The BS2 program is stored in on-module EEPROM. (That's Electrically Erasable PROM (Programmable Read-Only Memory)). As such, yes once loaded with a program, it stays in there indefinitely, ready to re-run on power-up.

4. When NOT using the BOE, you need to wire the positive voltage to 'Vin' of the BS2 module, and ground to Vss. This supplies the on-module regulator, which will then produce +5 on the Vdd pin. If you directly drive the Vdd pin with 9-volts, you will destroy the BS2. When using the BS2 regulator, you only have about 50 mA to work with. The BOE regulator will produce 1000 mA.
  • DShannonDShannon Posts: 26
    edited 2005-02-13 21:34
    thanks allanlane5,

so it sounds like my method of soldering the 12v wire and ground to the 9v battery clips on the BOE would work fine. Also, this seems to be the best way to go, given the BOE will give me 1000mA...
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815