Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Controling Solenoid — Parallax Forums

Controling Solenoid

earthlingzedearthlingzed Posts: 14
edited 2005-02-15 23:21 in BASIC Stamp
I am trying to control a solenoid from my BS2 using a circuit like the one shown in the attached picture.
I am very new to electronics and having trouble figuring out how to get my 24VDCsolenoid enough power using a TIP120 Darlington Transistor. The current coming in on the base is just under 5V and what is coming out to the solenoid is about 3.5V (roughly). My program is working fine and the solenoid is clicking and giving a very faint tug when it gets power as controled by the BS2, but not near enough. How do I amlify the power enough to operate the solenoid which needs 24V but will work okay at 12V? Is there an equation for calculating the power amplification?

My goal is to control 4 once I have this figured out. Is it better to buy some sort of motor control?
450 x 597 - 34K

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-02-09 15:13
    Solenoids require a nice bang current to get them to switch.· So you might find you need a healthy power supply when you are running 4.
    If you run them at half the voltage, you might find that you need twice the current....so you run out of regulator room quickly.

(just a note....current is in Amps....you are measuring 5volts on the base of the darlington.)
    The 5V on the base is about right...as the stamp puts out 5V and you have a series resistor so it drops a little.

I was surprised to see the diode across the emitter/collector....if it's purpose is to prevent back-EMF from hitting the stamp, then I'd have thought it'd be across the coil (like in a relay).·

What's the voltage across your coil?
    Where are you measuring that 3.5V?· if that's all you have at the solenoid, then there's no way that'll make it go (especially if it's a 24V one).
    You'll need·a separate supply....use a 24Vdc wall-wart.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·