Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Please help. — Parallax Forums

Please help.

azwillnjazwillnj Posts: 3
edited 2005-01-27 21:09 in BASIC Stamp
I need to make a robot from a BS2 stamp kit, the one that they sell at radio shack. It has the same requirments as the micromouse compitetion, pretty much it needs to navigate a maze the fastest. What I am thinking is a robot that has 3 optical sensors one faceing forward, one left and one right. Then go full speed into the maze, when it detects a wall infront of it it will slow down and when it gets close enough to the wall it will stop rotate 90 degrees and check for a wall in front, if there is no wall it will continue, if there is a wall, it will to turn until it finds a passageway. I also want it to stay centered in the passageway. The problem is though, I am not that experienced with the programming language at all, so if there is someone out there that can help me with programming it. Or atleast give me some ideas I can prob figure it out on my own.

Thanks.
Alex.

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-01-27 03:30
    Parallax sells a very nice SSIR unit (I think that's its acronym) which gives you an IR unit with adjustable range, so you can tell when a wall gets into a certain range of your 'bot. That sounds perfect for your application.

The hard part you may run into is interfacing the motors. Parallax also sells the excellent BOEBot, which I believe comes with two of these sensors, and excellent lab books for using it. Add a 24LC640 eeprom for storing the maze, and you have a very good base for building a micro-mouse.