Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Tranfering Projects to other EEPROMs — Parallax Forums

Tranfering Projects to other EEPROMs

CosmosusCosmosus Posts: 2
edited 2005-01-24 21:43 in BASIC Stamp
All,

I am fairly new to the world of Microcontrollers.· I purchased the Basic Stamp (BSX2) and BOE as my intro.· I have had alot of fun doing small projects but find myself often tearing apart a working progress to move onto something else.· The reason is that I do not want to commit my Stamp to any one project and buying a new one for each can get a little expensive.· In some projects 2 stamps would be usefull but the expense far out weights the usefulness of the project and the commitment of funds.· Is their a way I can utilize my Basic Stamp to do the development, programming, debugging etc.·and then transfer the program to a much cheaper, dedicated Microcontroller.

Thanks in advance for any suggestio0ns you can offer!!· idea.gif

Comments

• achilles03achilles03 Posts: 247
    edited 2005-01-24 17:13
    Tearing apart a work in progress to move on to another just means you're a tickerer, just like most everyone else here. I can't count how many times I've done that.

Why do you say you have to commit a stamp to a project? You can always take the BS2 out of one project, reload and reprogram the BS2 with the right program, and put it in another. You might have to get another breadboard, and set up your project there to free up your BOE, but breadboards are cheap (under 20$ for a good one).

You can get a dedicated microcontroller, but they are programmed differently than the BS2. You'd need a programmer (hardware), software to compile the program to a HEX file, as well as the microchip, a 5V regulator, and (usually) an oscillator. They're not nearly as user friendly as the BS2, which is why the BS2 is so popular.

Dave
  • CosmosusCosmosus Posts: 2
    edited 2005-01-24 17:49
    Dave,